At Bright Skies, we follow the statutory framework for the early years foundation stage. There are seven areas of learning that shape the educational activities that we offer, however we plan these in a way that promotes childrens interests, individual learning goals, and play. The seven areas of learning are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical development
  • Maths
  • Literacy
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

We promote these areas in all of our base rooms. To do this we use a range of resources, including natural materials, to spark childrens curiosity of the world around them. This then enables us to incorporate the seven areas of learning into play.
An example of how we might do this:

  • Sensory play with shaving foam, jelly or dried pasta in the baby room, to allow children to explore their senses and get a feel for different textures.
  • Water play in the lady bird room, allowing children to fill and empty different sized containers.
  • Providing a range of mark making tools in our caterpillar room, such as brushes, sponges and stamps, to allow children to practice having control over an object.
  • Providing real, true to size and weight objects where possible in our pre school room, to support childrens role play, such as real plates in the home corner or real hair brushes in our hairdressers role play.
Print | Sitemap
© Bright Skies Nursery